Alla inlägg den 3 augusti 2011

Av wettergren - 3 augusti 2011 02:00

 

03.08.11

           

Freya had her third birthday on the weekend. HAPPY BIRTHDAY.

           

Today we took a big basket and picked up all the roly-poly oranges from under the orange
tree's. We have been watching the oranges slowly grow bigger and ripen ever since
Freya started, so it has been really exciting to finally pick them. We have
been squeezing orange juice for lunch. Yum.

           

 Freya has been inviting Ahliah and myself into lots of games today, I think this is a
sign that she is feeling good within herself and feels a sense of belonging.


 
 
 
For our activity today I planned to make a mobile with little painted stars and an
angel. We painted the stars with yellow bright and then made the angel. Freya
wanted to play with the little angel. She took it flying to the horses, then
found a house for it to live in, soon there was a whole lot of people who moved
into the house with the angel. I didn't end up hanging the angel as Freya spent
the rest of the day with her: taking her on walks, singing and even picked some
grass and had a sea shell as the snail friend.

           

When I program and reflect on the day I love to see how a seemingly simple idea can be
carried and transformed by the child. Freya did this today and I feel her
little angel has filled her with love and light. Maybe tomorrow we will make
another one to hang.

           

 There is a beautiful bedtime verse which inspired the mobile idea:


As I go to sleep each night

An Angel watches over me

And fills my soul with loving light

And guides me to the stars so bright

And blesses me each morning.


   



Above: Freya leading Ahliah on the horse.


04.08.11

           

 It has been another beautiful warm day. Most our day was spent outside.

   

Freya's games have become more sociable in the sense that she invites Ahliah and I to
join, but it must be in just the right way: 'Ahliah can ride Unicorn and you
can ride Pony-Horse.' sometimes Ahliah is not interested in following rules
(now a confident walker with ideas of her own) and sometimes I need to be doing
other things. As Freya's awareness is growing she is beginning to learn that
other people have there own ideas, wants and needs. This is all very new and
part of becoming an interactive, confident and social human being.


             

With a good routine, dedicated play time, lots a reassurance and a clear and calm 'no' when
required we are all readjusting to this new phenomenon of the growing awareness
of a three year old and a fourteen month old.

           

The photo below shows Freya reading 'Hattie and the Fox' almost off by heart!


 


She points to all the animals speaking their parts and uses the same character voices as I
have been when reading the story. Freya is a wonderful story listener. I hear
parts of stories I have told surface two weeks later.      Stories are a wonderful medium to use with children as you
impart your knowledge of the world and help them through practical, challenging
and humorous times in their lives. I often retell the same story all week, and
again if requested.






Presentation

Fråga mig

3 besvarade frågor

Kalender

Ti On To Fr
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
<<< Augusti 2011 >>>

Sök i bloggen

Senaste inläggen

Kategorier

Arkiv

RSS

Besöksstatistik


Ovido - Quiz & Flashcards